Friends of South Yemen

Pattern strip

South Yemen

An internationally-recognised South Yemen state existed from 1967 to 1990 in the form of the People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen. From east to west, the territory consisted of the governorates of Al Mahrah, Hadhramaut, Shabwa, Abyan, Aden and Lahji, with small areas of present-day Al-Baida and Dali' governorates also lying south of the border dividing South Yemen from the Yemen Arab Republic (North Yemen).

North and South Yemen reunited in 1990.

Today it is the aspiration of the people of the south once again to live in a separate state comprising the original six governorates and the island group including Socotra which was formally part of Hadramaut but is now a separate governorate.